Time Out

by

Okay, slow down for a minute. We’ve got to make this thing last a bit. Make it interesting. There’s nothing more boring than a Finals sweep, is there? I’m gone for a few days and return to an instant 2-0 series lead for the Hawks and the feeling that this thing is steamrolling toward a quick, decisive resolution. Personally, I’d like to get to see a few more games.

I was away in the Northern Wilds for the holiday weekend for a bit of pastoral relaxation and recreation. I think it was Steven Wright who once said, “There’s a fine line between fishing and just standing on the shore like an idiot.” In which case, I spent an awful lot of time being an idiot over the past four days. I know what you’re thinking. “And just how does that differ from your everyday life, Ken?”

Well, up there, I’m an idiot surrounded by pine trees, fresh water and clean air.

Until all the smoke from the Canadian wild fires drifted south, that is. You’d think the authorities in Montreal would have extinguished all those burning cars by now, wouldn’t you? Jesus, guys. What’s going to happen if you ever do win the Cup again? The smoke clouds are going to make that volcano in Iceland look like a discarded cigar butt.

So, yeah, I’m back in town. Boston is shrouded in a gray, post-apocalyptic haze. The Celtics are in the finals against the Lakers in a case of neverending sports deja vu. The Red Sox are playing a bit better but struggling to gain any sort of ground in what is a brutal AL East Division. The Bruins are sleeping with the fishes I never caught, except for Jack Edwards who is on a one man Haiku tour of Japan.

So, yes, please, I’d like a few more games of decent hockey to watch if you don’t mind. Philadelphia has got to bring this thing back home and make it interesting. There’s no doubt they know how to deal with the underdog role. The only question is whether or not team unity and grit can stand against what is looking like a Blackhawks Express Freight Train speeding straight towards Stanleyville.

I don’t know about you but I’m not quite ready for the Dog Days just yet.

Tags: , , , , , ,

3 Responses to “Time Out”

  1. nightfly Says:

    I’m ready. Three weeks of draft talk, starting immediately after Game Four. Philly can take a long jump off a short plank.

  2. KofC Says:

    Sure, I could use a little more time to hunt down a Stanley Cup-shaped cookie cutter…

    I’d be thrilled to end it in 4 but wouldn’t mind a longer series, I guess, except that it means I’ll be pissed off about another home game I can’t go to. I expected the Flyers to win some. Thought that about the Sharks, too…

    Hope you had a good time away. I tried to message you then realized other people actually spend Memorial Day weekend with friends and family, not sitting around cursing at their malfunctioning computer.

  3. Ken Socrates Says:

    I was in a place that didn’t even have internet, K. It was positively primitive. Hanging with family is okay, I guess, unless it’s someone who constantly berates you for not eating organic hot dogs. What the fuck is organic about a hot dog anyway? I don’t care if it’s made from the nectar of the mother humpin’ gods.

    It’s still a hot dog.

    At least a malfunctioning computer lets you eat whatever you want and doesn’t make you feel guilty about it.

Leave a Reply

