Hawks and Flyers Rolling

by

Well, the Conference Finals haven’t had quite the drama of previous rounds up to this point, have they? After last night’s games both Chicago and Philadelphia have taken a 2-0 lead in their respective series and it certainly seems like each team has momentum on it’s side. I know it’s too early to really call it for either one and, given the way teams have come back in this year’s post-season, there’s still time for the Anything Can Happen clause to kick in.

I’ll make it clear, however, that this is the way I’d like it to continue. The Blackhawks, for whatever reason, have been one of my favorite alternate NHL teams to keep an eye on and this year’s squad is particularly fun to watch. Loaded with young talent, brash and cocky and original six. What’s not to like?

In the case of the East Final, Ancient Hatred has overcome Recent Heartbreak and I’m hoping the Flyers will trounce the Habs and put them back in their place on the lower rungs of the Conference. Everyone here is pretty sick of the Cinderella story at this point and it’s time for the Bleu Blanc et Rougettes to take a seat. To be honest, I can’t even watch this series for any prolonged period. The wounds are still too fresh.

Still, I’m looking for a Chicago-Philadelphia Stanley Cup Final and that won’t be a bad thing for the NHL or it’s fans. The talented Hawks versus the gritty, never say die Flyers. I would certainly give the Hawks the edge to win their first Cup since 1961, a drought over a decade longer than the Bruins’. Maybe that’s where some of the affinity I feel for the team comes from, as well.

Tags: , , ,

4 Responses to “Hawks and Flyers Rolling”

  1. KofC Says:

    Wish I could remember where I read last November or so the sports writer who predicted a Hawks-Flyers final at the start of the season, but was giving up on it then because of the Flyers’ terrible slump. Bet they’re amused now…

    IF this is the matchup, I guess I’m okay with it. I kind of wanted an Original Six SCF…but Montreal has enough to be excited about with their first two rounds, and this “Canada’s Team” stuff is silly (my Boston friend told me yesterday Canadians would be like that, and a survey out today claimed even 2/3rds of Leafs fans were rooting for them), and it’d be nice to have a SCF matchup that’s never happened before.

    And, I won’t take any credit for you keeping your eye on the Blackhawks this year; if I recall right they were mentioned in your manifesto long ago…

  2. Ken Socrates Says:

    Yes but your enthusiasm and coverage has made it both easier and more enjoyable and that’s a fact. There’s only a handful of websites on my Visit Every Day list but A Little Chippy is certainly one of them. Hawks make it to the finals (and they should) I expect some cracker-jack stuff for my reading pleasure, K.

    Get to work!

  3. KofC Says:

    Hey, I wasn’t saying that to fish for compliments! Wait, of course I was. Anyway, same deal re: the Bruins and your blog all year. And you’re reminding me I haven’t exactly talked about the Blackhawks much in postseason (the minor leagues and Twitter keep distracting me). I’ll see what I can do.

  4. KofC Says:

    Well…since you wrote this the Habs fought back a little, which I expected. And the Blackhawks swept, which I didn’t. In between win 3 and win 4 the ticket I thought my friend was selling me to game 4 evaporated, so I was bitterly, selfishly hoping for a loss today. (Also, I thought it was bad luck for people to show up with brooms today, given what happened in…uh…) Er, probably not the kind of thing I should admit.

Leave a Reply

