Let There Be Seven

by

bruins flyers

Against all reasonable sensibility, there will in fact be a Game 7 Friday night at TD Garden in Boston as the Flyers beat the Bruins 2-1 in Philly tonight to force the deciding game. After being down 3-0, Philadelphia has beaten the suddenly hapless B’s three times in a row to tie the series.

Earlier in the evening, the upstart Canadiens had beaten Pittsburgh in it’s own Game 7 to advance to the Eastern Conference Finals. Only one series remains unfinished to settle the NHL’s final four and it’s down to a single game to decide it.

All the more reason to get this thing done on Friday if you’re wearing Black & Gold. It would be a historic Conference Final if two O6 teams, two ancient, bitter rivals, could face off to decide a trip to the Stanley Cup Finals. And the B’s would have home ice.

All of that is a dream right now, however. All the confidence I had that the B’s were on there way towards that match-up is gone and recent forays into Game Sevens have not been kind to them (still hate you, Scott Walker). For now, it’ll have to be enough that they still have a chance to complete this journey and they’ll be in their home rink to attempt it.

Whether that’s enough to win remains to be seen.

More after I get some rest and process all of this a bit.

Where’s the fucking Advil?

Tags: , ,

5 Responses to “Let There Be Seven”

  1. KofC Says:

    Yeah…I’m so disappointed it’s gone to a game 7. I don’t want to make any predictions…I’ll just be watching nervously.

    Tonight the Cincinnati Cyclones were the 6th team in pro hockey history to come back from a 3-0 deficit in their series. I’m pretty excited, since I didn’t get to any ECHL playoff games, and now I’m planning to go to a Kelly Cup final next week. I think that’s enough dramatic comebacks for this week!

  2. Ken Socrates Says:

    I think you’re right. And you want to talk about nervous? I chewed off all of my fingernails by Game 5 so last night I had to invite friends over just so I could chew theirs. My stomach was so upset I could only eat one and a half whole pizzas. It’s that bad.

    The Cyclones are in the Kelly Cup Finals again? I admit I lost track there but where the hell is my man Gonz with the details on that one? Cinci should be rockin’ the US Bank Arena once again.

  3. KofC Says:

    Yeah…vs Idaho Steelheads. Probably not a team I’d get a chance to see otherwise anytime soon (but next season I’m making a point of visiting a few “non-traditional” hockey markets). Turns out the Reds are playing a day game on Tuesday (that’d be my 15th MLB ballpark visited) and the 1st Cyclones home game is that night, so I’m trying to go then. Does Gonz live in Cincy? I’d be glad to say hi.

    I went through a box of mac & cheese and lots of Coke Zero last night. Will be stocking up on beer for tomorrow’s game…

  4. Gonz Says:

    Yup, I live near Cincy, KofC. I might get a chance to check out a game or two if my work schedule is compliant.

    Oh, and Ken, it hurts me to point this out but Reading’s NHL affiliate is the Bruins.

  5. Ken Socrates Says:

    Just what I need. More ill omens.

Leave a Reply

