Go Canuck Yourself

by

I’m absolutely in love with following article by Derek Zona over at From The Rink and heartily recommend it to all of you as a Must Read.

The Worst Hockey Fans in Canada.

Honestly, living here on the East Coast and following a team in the Northeast Division, it was nearly impossible for me to conceive of any fan base being more arrogant and pathetic than that of the Montreal Canadiens. Or, to a lesser degree in my mind, the Toronto Maple Leafs.

The picture Zona so eloquently paints of Vancouver Canucks fans blows that notion out of the water. Brilliant stuff there and a reason to root like fuck for the Chicago Blackhawks.

Share and enjoy, friends.

Tags: , , , , , ,

2 Responses to “Go Canuck Yourself”

  1. KofC Says:

    Heh, thanks for pointing it out; I’m surprised to not see Second City Hockey commenters all over it. Seems like more of an attack piece than From the Rink usually runs, but I’m okay with the piece itself. Will alert the SCH crowd if they haven’t seen it already…my internet’s barely worked for a while so I can’t keep up.

    Even if people aren’t fans of either team, this is probably the most heated rivalry of round two. Last time Canucks-Hawks met, double-digit penalty minutes handed out 36 seconds into the period (and I was there)! You can’t miss that!

  2. Ken Socrates Says:

    I love a good attack piece (or opinion piece if you don’t want to demonize his intent) if it’s well done and warranted. This seems to fit the bill quite well. I was hooked when his description of Habs fans so clearly crystallized what it is I have despised in them so much over the years.

    Ouch, Vancouver. Ouch ouch ouch.

Leave a Reply

