NHL Trading Post: Monday

by

So here’s how we’re going to handle all the fun and excitement of this years’s NHL Trade Deadline here at HGW. We’ll keep things simple. One post like this on each of the three upcoming days, frequently and constantly updated as time allows. I’ll try to keep things as live as possible with all the latest news, links, rumours and opinions on the deals as they go down. Plus the usual wild slander and abuse.

What I’m hoping for from you, my dear friends and readers, is some ongoing feedback in these posts via the comments section. Your thoughts on the action, good or bad, your hopes for your team or evil wishes against your hated rival. Your fondest dreams and deep dark secrets, maybe a soup recipe or two. I promise I’ll be here as much as possible with even more annoying disturbing lucid responses than usual.

Let’s watch it all go down and chat about it.

So it begins.

  • First out of the gate today, the Pittsburgh Penguins acquire defenseman Jordan Leopold from the Florida Panthers for a 2010 2nd round pick.
  • Jordan Leoplold Traded to Pittsburgh Penguins

    Jordan Leopold
    To Pittsburgh

    Not an impact trade, obviously. Leopold, once thought to be a potentially above average offensive defenseman, now a somewhat disappointing journeyman, will be seeing his fourth team in the last three seasons. Originally a valued Flames prospect (drafted by Anaheim in 1999 but traded to Calgary in 2000), he’s bounced around and failed to impress in Colorado and Florida subsequently. Could click with the young guns in Pitt but my feeling is, even though that 2nd rounder will be somewhere in the high 50’s overall, it’s still a mild overpayment for a 20 point a year blueliner who’s going to be unrestricted. Advantage Panthers.

    Okay, so I know that was a lot of analysis for a Jordan Leopold trade. Cut me some slack. It’s the first one and I’m a little excited this year.

  • Minor move, in the sense that it has more impact on the AHL than NHL, the St. Louis Blues acquire goaltender Joe Fallon from the Chicago Blackhawks for G Hannu Toivonen and D Danny Richmond.
  • All players have spent more time in the A than the big leagues. Toivonen, as some of you might remember, was once a highly thought of of Bruins’ prospect who, like every other B’s “goalie of the future”, went straight into the tank as soon as I invested in a large quantity of their limited edition, numbered rookie cards. Fallon, on the other hand, has actually worked his way up from the ECHL after an excellent college career at the University of Vermont. Guy like that makes it to the NHL, you have to root for him.

  • The Edmonton Oilers, ever sellers at the deadline, have moved defenseman Denis Grebeshkov to the Nashville Predators for a 2nd round pick.
  • Denis Grebeshkov Traded to Nashville Predators

    Denis Grebeshkov
    To Nashville

    Seems to be the Preds got more for their second rounder than did the Pens. Grebeshkov is only 26 years old, a restricted free agent and has a decent little resume he’s working on including 4 games with the Russian Olympic squad in Vancouver. 39 points and a +12 last year with the Oilers, he’s fallen back a bit this year but, in Edmonton, who hasn’t?

  • Atlanta gets huge Russian winger Evgeni Artyukhin from the Ducks for D Nathan Oystrick and a conditional 2011 pick.
  • Advertisements

    Tags: , , , , ,

    3 Responses to “NHL Trading Post: Monday”

    1. KofC Says:

      I’m less interested in this than most but, well, still mildly interested. I don’t know much about the NHL players involved. I’m amused that the Blackhawks got Toivonen, who I saw play a good game against the IceHogs two nights ago. I didn’t even know about the Bruins connection till the B’s fans I know on Twitter (some also Hawks fans) started posting lots of photos of him. I guess they liked him…not sure how this will work out.

      I’ve seen Oystrick with the Chicago Wolves; he’s having a decent season and he’s the PIM leader since the team got rid of Josh Gratton (who didn’t do much besides fight) a few months ago. The Ducks are the one NHL team without an AHL affiliate…

      I was a guest on a Blackhawks podcast tonight and meant to throw out Zenon Konopka’s name as a fake rumor, but that’s really just because I like any excuse to mention him, not that I want him for the Hawks…

    2. KofC Says:

      And since I posted that the Wolves put out a press release–Oystrick stays here. Not sure if he’d have to go if the Ducks did have an AHL team…at any rate, I didn’t think he’d go to their ECHL affiliate, the Bakersfield Condors (uh, I know this from having the NHL Official Guide next to my computer at all times).

    3. Ken Socrates Says:

      I ran into that issue last night while updating my NHL 10 Rosters (I’m anal enough that I make the AHL accurate as well) and since Anaheim has no affiliate, I had a hell of a time finding a place to stash their bubble players to make room for some of their moves. I hadn’t updated in a while so I still had to add Kyle Chipchura, Vesa Toskala and Jason Blake while only removing Giguere.

      Monday was very diappointing for me. I had time and energy aplenty and nowhere to go with it. Now, things will go down in flurries and I’ll either be working or tied up elsewhere when I need to be here, probably. It’s the way it tends to go.

      My kingdom for more blogging time!

    Leave a Reply

