Bloodless Killer

by

Jack Edwards, old son. Maybe you’d like a mulligan on this one?

Listen at the 4:09 mark of the following video highlight from last night’s Boston Bruins shoot-out victory over the San Jose Sharks to hear the ever ebuliant, somewhat ranting B’s TV play-by-play guy refer to Dany Heatley as “One of the most bloodless killers in the NHL.”

Uhm. Oops?

We all know what happened on September 29th, 2003, when Heatley lost control of his Ferrari and, in the ensuing crash, his friend and teammate Dan Snyder was ejected from the car, sustaining injuries that he would die from a few days later. Heatley ended up pleading guilty to Second Degree Vehicular Homicide.

So, ah, maybe a poor choice of words there, Jack? I honestly believe that Edwards was trying to say something about Heatley’s ability as a proficient sniper goal scorer but I’m quite sure, listening back on the way it came out, he might just be wishing he phrased it differently.

Unless he intended it exactly as said.

In which case I applaud the man’s balls and his utterly thrilling lack of good judgement.

You go, Jack.

Tags: , , , , ,

3 Responses to “Bloodless Killer”

  1. KofC Says:

    I just linked to this on Twitter, which would mean something if people actually retweeted me…surprised I hadn’t heard it first from any of my hockey contacts there.

    A friend who shall remain nameless (er, it wasn’t me) saw Heatley skating a while back, I’m assuming during warmups. He fell down, and my friend yelled from his seat “You skate like you drive!” And got some looks from the people around him. “Too soon?”

  2. Ken Socrates Says:

    When I heard him say it last night I didn’t think too much of it, just sort of, “Hrm. Not the best way to put that, Jack old pal.” But then, I was a bit in the moment and into the game. The more I listen to it now, the more I cringe. It’s already got a bit of play on local sports radio but, as of this posting, Edwards hadn’t responded to clarify.

    Hate to think of the shitstorm it might cause in San Jose and other places if people want to grab it and run with it.

  3. Gonz Says:

    I’d score it as unintentional but hilarious. Several of my friends got to know Snyder pretty well from his Orlando Solar Bears and Chicago Wolves days. They’ve never forgiven what Heatly did and refer to him as “the Gap-Toothed Murderer”.

    Anyway, good for Edwards even if he didn’t mean it that way.

Leave a Reply

